Tags

, , , , ,


THE IMPORTANCE OF SELF CARE RX

FOR FOSTER  ADOPTIVE PARENTS

    (c) 2010 By Deborah Beasley, ACPI CCPF

Foster and future adoptive parents struggle to maintain emotional balance while making their way through the foster care system to adoption.  So, what are you doing about your own self care?

Are you looking for ways to relax?  Really relax?  You want to be able to let go of the worry, waiting, and wondering how it will turn out for your child and your family.  You also know self care is important.  Amid the stress of your child’s weekly parental visitations, unexpected visits from your caseworker, and never-ending court proceedings,

HOW DO YOU FIND WHAT YOU NEED?

These are the times when you surround yourself with support from friends, family, and those who have gone this way before you.  You can be real with those you trust and love and this will even include your older foster child.  Go ahead and speak your highest hopes and your deepest fears out loud.  Go ahead and give yourself permission not to hold the whole world, and this entire process, on your shoulders all by yourself.

Learn to take the moments you need to reinforce your emotional, physical, psychological, and spiritual self, in whatever small amounts you can, anytime you can.

HOW EXACTlY AM I SUPPOSED TO DO THAT YOU ASK?

Well… if you had a choice, and money, time, and opportunity were not a concern, what would you do to take good care of yourself?

Say, “Yes!”

“I am ready to make a positive change in my life!”

“I am willing and able to invest in my own wellbeing!”

“I commit myself today, to my own self care!”

For my child,  my life, and my family.

