Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,


Children with Mental and Emotional Illness

HOW DOES A PARENT HEAL?

ONE DAY AT A TIME

© 2010 By Deborah Beasley, ACPI CCPF

I have a child with mental and emotional health issues.

In the past I mourned the child I hoped for.

In the past I felt guilty.

In the past I felt I was an inadequate parent.

 In the past I worried constantly.

In the past I feared I could not keep my child safe, or those around her safe.

In the past I feared I could not parent my child into the future.

In the past I obsessed about getting away from the unbelievable life sucking stress of it all.

Some days I am angry.

Some days I am hurt.

Some days my heart is broken. 

Some days I am light hearted.

Some days I cry. 

Some days I laugh. 

Some days I still have nightmares.

Some days I dislike her, or the turmoil her illness creates. 

Some days I rise to the challenge.

Some days I fall repeatedly.

Some days I overcome.

Some days I am discouraged by my weakness.

Many days I find strength.

Some days I want to give up.

 Many days I am determined to never give up.

Some days I fear I will lose my child to the illness. 

Most days… I believe I will cure her.

Where are other parents like me?  Come out.  I know you are there…

